Debian 9 TeamSpeak 3 server on Vultr

Asphyxia

Server Monkey
Administrator
Joined
Apr 25, 2015
Messages
1,048
Points
237
Age
25
Location
North America
Get signed up for a Vultr server: https://www.vultr.com/?ref=7592339


Download PuTTY by clicking here and find the putty.exe!

Code:
apt-get update
apt-get upgrade
apt-get install sudo
Code:
adduser --disabled-password --gecos "" teamspeak
mkdir /opt/teamspeak
chown teamspeak:teamspeak /opt/teamspeak/
chmod 0770 /opt/teamspeak/
nano /etc/systemd/system/teamspeak3server.service

Paste:
Code:
[Unit]
Description=Teamspeak 3 Server

[Service]
ExecStart=/opt/teamspeak/ts3server_startscript.sh start
ExecStop=/opt/teamspeak/ts3server_startscript.sh stop
PIDFile=/opt/teamspeak/ts3server.pid
Type=forking
User=teamspeak
Group=teamspeak

[Install]
WantedBy=multi-user.target
Ctrl + O, Ctrl + X

Code:
chmod 664 /etc/systemd/system/teamspeak3server.service
systemctl daemon-reload
systemctl enable teamspeak3server.service
visudo

Add the following:
Code:
# Cmnd alias specification
Cmnd_Alias TEAMSPEAK_CMDS = /bin/systemctl start teamspeak3server, /bin/systemctl stop teamspeak3server, /bin/systemctl restart teamspeak3server, /bin/systemctl status teamspeak3server

# User privilege specification
teamspeak ALL=NOPASSWD: TEAMSPEAK_CMDS, /sbin/reboot
Ctrl + O, Ctrl + X

Code:
wget http://dl.4players.de/ts/releases/3.5.0/teamspeak3-server_linux_amd64-3.5.0.tar.bz2
tar xfv teamspeak3-server_linux_amd64-3.0.13.8.tar.bz2
mv ~/teamspeak3-server_linux_amd64/* /opt/teamspeak/
rm -rf ~/teamspeak3-server_linux_amd64*
/opt/teamspeak/ts3server_startscript.sh start license_accepted=1
If you have any questions or security recommendations, post here!
 

archimede67

New Member
Joined
Feb 27, 2018
Messages
1
Points
2
Age
24
That's not totally free...
We need to purchase a virtual private server in order to host this ts3 server.
So the term "free" is not relevant.
And btw, there's free services out there that provide you free ts3 server, but actually for free.

But thanks for the "how to setup a ts3 server on your VPS" :)
 

AmirGT

New Member
Joined
May 26, 2017
Messages
29
Points
18
Age
28
Get signed up for a Vultr server: https://www.vultr.com/?ref=7592339


Download PuTTY by clicking here and find the putty.exe!

Code:
apt-get update
apt-get upgrade
apt-get install sudo
Code:
adduser --disabled-password --gecos "" teamspeak
mkdir /opt/teamspeak
chown teamspeak:teamspeak /opt/teamspeak/
chmod 0770 /opt/teamspeak/
nano /etc/systemd/system/teamspeak3server.service

Paste:
Code:
[Unit]
Description=Teamspeak 3 Server

[Service]
ExecStart=/opt/teamspeak/ts3server_startscript.sh start
ExecStop=/opt/teamspeak/ts3server_startscript.sh stop
PIDFile=/opt/teamspeak/ts3server.pid
Type=forking
User=teamspeak
Group=teamspeak

[Install]
WantedBy=multi-user.target
Ctrl + O, Ctrl + X

Code:
chmod 664 /etc/systemd/system/teamspeak3server.service
systemctl daemon-reload
systemctl enable teamspeak3server.service
visudo

Add the following:
Code:
# Cmnd alias specification
Cmnd_Alias TEAMSPEAK_CMDS = /bin/systemctl start teamspeak3server, /bin/systemctl stop teamspeak3server, /bin/systemctl restart teamspeak3server, /bin/systemctl status teamspeak3server

# User privilege specification
teamspeak ALL=NOPASSWD: TEAMSPEAK_CMDS, /sbin/reboot
Ctrl + O, Ctrl + X

Code:
wget http://dl.4players.de/ts/releases/3.5.0/teamspeak3-server_linux_amd64-3.5.0.tar.bz2
tar xfv teamspeak3-server_linux_amd64-3.0.13.8.tar.bz2
mv ~/teamspeak3-server_linux_amd64/* /opt/teamspeak/
rm -rf ~/teamspeak3-server_linux_amd64*
/opt/teamspeak/ts3server_startscript.sh start license_accepted=1
If you have any questions or security recommendations, post here!
How to change ports if I'm using NAT VPS?
 

_w00t_

VIP
Joined
Jul 28, 2015
Messages
227
Points
64
How to change ports if I'm using NAT VPS?
Look for ts3server.ini file . this is where you can change port. Also using Dblite SQL software you can edit on the fly if you know it .
 

Codiaz

New Member
Joined
Jul 22, 2017
Messages
2
Points
15
Age
19
Location
Denmark
I can get 32 slot server for $12 a year, so this is kinda mehhh to me.

Its not free
That's not totally free...
We need to purchase a virtual private server in order to host this ts3 server.
So the term "free" is not relevant.
And btw, there's free services out there that provide you free ts3 server, but actually for free.

But thanks for the "how to setup a ts3 server on your VPS" :)
Actually it is, the "TEAMSPEAK 3" server is free, however to host it is not so there ain't nothing wrong with the email that was mass sent.

And btw, there's free services out there that provide you free ts3 server, but actually for free.
Yeah sure if you wan't a shitty free teamspeak 3 server that u can't change the join message, banner etc on then sure u can use that, but if ur making a proper community and want ur own banner then a free wont do.

Only reason they are free is because of the advertisement they do, example the banner u can't change and the join message etc[/QUOTE]
 

Joniruler

Member
Joined
Jun 20, 2016
Messages
1
Points
35
Age
21
Nice video, im using from before a 3.50$ server here on Vultr and for me goes more than enough for Sinusbot, TS3 Server and Netdata i just have a little script to free a bit of ram every hour

But appart of that It it works great with the 3.50$ server or the 5$ server
 

6xPink

VIP
Joined
Mar 25, 2016
Messages
31
Points
46
Age
22
I would just like to say VULTR quote 20gb/s Denial of Service Protection via TCP and some UDP based rules // 20gb/s is more than enough for a clan or a TeamSpeak if they are not targeted by various Turkish/Russian people, However these people tend to attack larger TeamSpeaks so in a way Aspyxia is correct. Also to note the CPU and IO rate on VULTR is incredible it’s roughly 6x better than a Google Cloud and OVH Cloud Based Server after all they are the leaders in Cloud Technology, there Network is outstanding and provides more than enough for 99.98% uptime.

All in all VULTR is a great host but if you are looking for something more serious for a TeamSpeak Server either go with OVH, Hosteam, Voxility or DDOS-Guard Resellers.

All of which provide 1Tb/s up to 1.5Tb/s

Note: You can also use the provided tutorial that Asypxia has kindly put up for you to use on all Linux based servers.

Regards
6xPink
 
Last edited:

Top